Moving, Musicals, Illness & Splurges

It has been a ridiculously long time since I actually sat down and wrote a blog post – absolutely terrible, I say! – so this post will pretty much be a little catch up, as it were (I fully understand that my last couple of posts have been under this category, but lets not get into that right now…)

FIRSTLY, I have moved house. When I say ‘I’, I actually mean ‘we’ (that being myself, my parents, younger brother and the cat) have moved house. No longer am I cooped up in the box room! I finally have S P A C E to move around and swing the cat around, if I so wished. DISCLAIMER: this will not be happening because that would be classed as animal cruelty… and he’s far too cute!

2015-04-03 13.54.17
Empty boxes post move are apparently great as cat beds…

However, it wasn’t just the case of moving into a new house where we could all start afresh and make it into our own little home; quite different actually. We have actually moved back into our old house. Yes, you read that correctly, our old house. When people hear this for the first time the look of confusion on their faces amuses me. I can pretty much picture the thought bubble that would appear above their heads if this was a cartoon: “They’re moving back into their old house!? What did they do? Buy it back from the person they sold it to?” Nope! In fact, it’s quite simple really. The house we now live in our – our old house – was being rented out to tenants, whilst we ourselves were renting a smaller house elsewhere, whilst still owning our current house… I just made that sound a whole lot more confusing and complicated than it actually is. Basically, our tenants handed in their notice, we didn’t like the house we were living in and renting, so we have moved back into the house that we own (which we actually designed and built ourselves!)

So, yep. That happened. At first, I thought it would be really weird moving back in as we’d not been living their for nearly two and a half years. But once we’d moved everything back in, it felt like we’d never left. It feels so good to be back in this house and to also see how much happier we all are here than we were before. The reason we moved out in the first place was because we couldn’t – and still can’t, really – afford to live there. However, what with my brother and I now working full-time and contributing towards bills by paying rent, the strain isn’t quite so severe and weighty on my parents’ pockets. If it means being able to stay here in the long-term, I’m all good.

SECONDLY, I was finally able to have my birthday present from my boyfriend, Lee, this month! On Easter weekend we both went to see Shrek: The Musical on tour at Birmingham Hippodrome and it was absolutely amazing! I loved every second of it. The music is quite a rock-y style and I absolutely loved it. I commend any actor or actress who can perform shows as though it was the first time they’d performed it to a live audience and still have so much enthusiasm and love for what they are doing. It makes me miss performing and being on stage myself – I worked out that it has now been over a year since I last performed on stage! How crazy is that!? This definitely needs to change in the near future, I’ve decided. It’s right at the top of my to-do list.

2015-04-04 19.14.20
Shrek: The Musical Saturday 4th April, 2015 – Birmingham Hippodrome

THIRDLY, I am currently feeling extremely ill and I don’t really understand why. I’ve been to the doctors and had both urine (gross, I know – sorry!) and blood samples taken to be tested for diabetes, anaemia, thyroid problems and water infection. It was the first time I’d ever had to have a blood test and it is safe to say that I was rather nervous. I’m not that bad with needles, but I’d be lying if I said I enjoyed anything involving them. The knowledge of knowing that you’re going to be pricked with a needle is the worst part, I reckon, as the actually withdrawing of blood wasn’t that bad. I felt the initial prick and also felt it slightly when they were changing viles, but other than that it was fine. I just looked away and let tried to forget what was happening. The two nurses in the room were lovely though. We just talked about jewelry, which sparked from the one who was about to jab me with a needle commenting that we both had the same Pandora ring, etc. They definitely helped me forget why I was there and tried to make it as natural as possible. Top brownie points to these two nurses, of whom I don’t know the names of.

However, I also gave symptoms which my doctor felt could be related to a stress related illness. This theory is actually rather plausible as work has been horribly busy and stressful as of late, to the point that I am not enjoying going in each day. I was off work sick from Wednesday – Friday of this week because I felt horribly ill (queasy, dehydrated, lethargic, headaches, etc. – and no I’m not pregnant; my urine sample came back negative!) and my doctor gave me a weeks’ sick note if I felt I needed to use it on the terms that I was suffering from work related stress. I do feel stressed when I’m at work and I do think it might be a contributing factor to why I’m feeling as horrible as I am. So, I guess we’ll have to see how I feel on Monday and whether I want to use it or not.

ON A LIGHTER NOTE, I got my first months’ wages on the last day of last month, which means April has been a month of being able to buy things without worrying too much about being completely skint by the end of a week. I have been careful with my money so that it lasts, but I have also been treating myself a little bit – more because I’m proud of myself for having actually earned that much money by myself and not having it handed to me by the government, via Student Finance or Job Seekers’ Allowance. This money is mine and I could do what I wanted with it and not feel guilty about it. Today, has particularly been great where I managed to by approximately £100+ worth of items for just a little over £40. SALE is my favourite four letter word… Gotta love ’em!

2015-04-18 18.55.31
A little selection of today’s purchases [17.04.15]

I might decide to do an April Haul post at some point as I have bought some rather lovely things over the past month which I might like to share. We’ll see.

I think that’s pretty much all I’ve got to say really about the month so far and what I’ve been up to. I don’t really do an awful lot now days except work, eat and sleep. I guess that everyday life for you! I will try and be more pro-active on this blog and post somewhat regularly.

Until next time,

Chloe ♥

Comment Away!

