I got a job!

After graduating in September and months and months of doing nothing productive with my life, I can finally say that I have got a job! At long last, and I am so relieved.

For the last four weeks I’ve been working at a recruitment agency in Nottingham on a work experience placement that had potential to last up to eight weeks. Well, after reaching the half way mark this week it has been made official and confirmed that my manager would like me to stay on and continuing working on a permanent basis as of March 2nd. I couldn’t be happier, and it finally means I can say goodbye to the dreaded job centre once and for all! I have one more appointment with them before I officially start perm, but after that I never have to set foot inside the place. Thank goodness!

2015-02-09 13.16.54
My office desk this week: very busy, and very unorganised. HELP!

My official role within the Nottingham branch will be Branch Administrator, and I’m enjoying the work so far. It’s keeping me occupied and also very busy, what with us currently in the midst of a very large contract which is keeping us all on our toes. It has been very hectic over the last few weeks but I’ve been informed that this is what the branch can be like at its worse so if I can survive this then I can survive just about anything that’s thrown in my direction. I look forward to the challenge.

I suppose one of the only downsides, or minor details, is that my wage doesn’t exactly reflect that expected for a graduate to earn. But then again, its administration work that, it all fairness, you don’t really need to have earned a degree to do. But its a start and a step in the right direction; where that direction leads to, I have no idea but we’ll see. And besides, any wage is better than no wage at all!

There’s only three of us in the office (soon to be four when a new Sales Consultant is brought in) so it can be quite quiet in the office, especially if someone is off site for the day in which there is then only two of us. However, with me now going perm, I will soon be responsible and expected to be in the office on my own at times. It sounds as though it could get quite lonely, but I suppose it would give me more of an incentive to work harder and not get distracted by my co-workers. I enjoy the energy around the office and the people I work with are lovely so I can’t really complain much.

Just two more weeks to go! Just waiting for my offer letter to arrive and to then inform the job centre that I’ll be signing off for good. Yay! Things are looking brighter by the day.

I’ll keep you updated with all the latest shinanigans when and if they happen.

Until next time,

Chloe ♥

Comment Away!

