‘Tis the Season to be Jolly

It is now officially the 1st of December and perfectly acceptable to talk about all things Christmas. Hooray!

Believe me when I say this, it has been a very gruelling and frustrating few weeks and not because of anything particularly stressful or work related (lack of, should I say?) but simply because of the fact that Christmas seems to have dominated the UK since early September and has suddenly picked up even more so over the last couple weeks of November. I’m not a Scrooge – I promise! – but I do believe and feel strongly that Christmas should stay well within December and that it shouldn’t lurk its head or presence before then. It’s perfectly logical, yet others think I’m a bit weird when I express this opinion.

2014-11-25 20.18.06-1
This year’s wrapped Christmas presents for friends, family and loved ones.

I love Christmas decoration and thoroughly enjoy putting our tree up each year and decking the whole house out but, like everything else, I do believe the tree shouldn’t be put up until it is December. It’s bad enough that shopping centres and town centres start putting decorations up around early-mid November, but when my Facebook, Twitter &Β Instagram newsfeedsΒ are full of images of peoples’ fully decorated trees in November, my blood starts to boil a bit. This weekend just passed (28th-30th November) I must have seen more than a dozen assortment of Christmas trees that had been put up, in my opinion, too early. I just- … I mean- … why!? You wouldn’t open your advent calendar a day or two early than when you’re supposed to, so the same should apply with the tree, surely? I mean, that’s what advent is, right? The period leading up to Christmas. Therefore, decorations and celebrations should not begin until then. Huhhhhh…

I feel as though the nice little post I was planning has turned into one great big moan, so I do apologise. Like I said, I do really enjoy Christmas and this time of the year (except for how cold it is!) but I do wish people would keep it within the right month. I daresay our tree won’t be going up until at least next weekend; that is, if I can get my Grinch of a father to lug everything down from the loft for me – the worst day of the year in his eyes (he’s not a fan of Christmas at all!) We’ve always put our tree up either the first or second weekend in December all through my childhood and I think that’s perfectly acceptable. I’ve not missed out on ‘Christmas excitement’, I’ve had an advent calendar to help with that, and I don’t get bored with them being up as quickly as those who put them up ridiculously early, so bonus!

I must admit though, I have already bought a lot of my Christmas presents for people, simply because I want to get it over and done with so I’m not rushing around closer to Christmas and have to brave busy stores with countless other frantic people who left their shopping to the last minute. There’s nothing worse than feeling claustrophobic in a large store that any other time of the year wouldn’t be quite so busy. Also, I really enjoy wrapping presents so I’ve done pretty much all of that too. I like to make an effort with the presentation of the gifts I give to people, even if they themselves don’t appreciate them. It just gives me pleasure to make something look pretty; anyone can wrap something up in novelty paper and stick a generic bow on it, I like to go that little step further. Yes, it can sometimes cost a little bit more, but I’m at the stage in my life where I’m not dependent on anyone other than myself so I can afford to spend that tiniest little bit extra on nicer things for other people… Okay, so judging by my bank account this isn’t quite true but you get the idea. But I mostly make my gifts look nicer because I think it makes them stand out under the tree and looks much more like traditional Christmas gifts or like what you see in movies. I don’t know, it just makes me happy.

I plan to do a little post in the near future about ideas for decorating a small space for Christmas without breaking the bank.

What’s your favourite part about Christmas? And do you feel the same way I do about it staying inside December, or otherwise? Let me know in the comments below.

Until next time,

Chloe β™₯

Comment Away!

