November Haul

I went on a little shopping trip with a friend of mine over the weekend and thought I’d share with you my purchases. I wouldn’t really consider this a ‘haul’, as such, as I don’t think I actually bought all that much (whereas my bank account seems to think I have!) but I just think it’s easier to describe this way, and also allows for less words in the title! So, where to start!?

ALSO, before I start, I’ve tried to include as many links for these products as I can, provided that a web link is available or a website in general. All links have been highlighted in orange. Enjoy!

Bath & Body

2014-11-06 14.44.292014-11-06 14.39.26

Café de Bain Coconut Macaroon Softening Shower CrèmeSuperdrug, £1.99 (1/3 off offer)

I stumbled across this brand whilst actually looking for a replacement of my usual shower gel. Now I know you should never judge anything just by its packaging but when I saw this particular shower cream I was instantly drawn in by the design of the packaging. There were three other favours available, both in shower and bath cream versions, including Raspberry and Rose Crème Tarte, Sweet Vanilla Madeleine and Cherry and Almond (bath crème only). However, when I smelt the Coconut Macaroon one I was instantly in love! The smell is exceptionally strong and to die for. If you’re a coconut lover, like me, then you must get this shower cream. It lathers well and leaves me smelling like coconut for a long time after coming out of the shower. I can only imagine what it would be like using the bath cream too! I may have to invest sometime in the near future. However, if you’re not that into the smell of coconut, I would recommend one of the other varieties available.

Cream Ruffle Shower Scrunchie – Primark, £1

Primark is a devil for having things hanging up in the section whilst you’re waiting to pay for your items. It both intrigues and frustrates me at this point of my shopping experience as I always end up picking up extra little bits whilst I’m waiting and further adding to my purchases. But then the age old excuse of “It’s only a pound!” pops into your head and all is forgiven. This particular little buy also came with this little excuse. I was waiting in the queue and saw this shower scrunchie and I thought it was sweet and right up my street. Bonus, it was only a pound so in it went into my basket. That’s the end of the story, really. It’s pretty, I saw it, and I bought it. Done. Next?

TRESemmé Youth Boost Shampoo & Conditioner – Superdrug, £2.97 each (half price offer)

Much like the shower cream I mentioned above, I was originally looking to replace my regular shampoo and conditioner when I stumbled across this one. I normally use the TRESemmé Platinum Strength Shampoo and Conditioner (which I would definitely recommend as they left my hair feeling so soft whilst also strengthening it immensely) but I was a little low on cash by the time I came to buying it and couldn’t afford them both at £4.99 each. So I began looking around at other variations of TRESemmé products and found these two. They’re new to the brand and were on offer for half price. So I bought them both and have been using them for nearly a week now. Although I miss Platinum Strength, these are just as good. The packaging is also much smaller to handle and I reckon much easier to get the last dregs out of when it comes to the bottom of the tube (something that I’ve always found difficult when using TRESemmé bottles in the past!)

Wizard Bubble Bar – Lush, £3.25

I’ll admit right now that I’m not the biggest bath lover. I’m more of a shower person, to be completely honest. However, I always like the idea of having a bath and do occasional draw myself one everyone once in a while to only then get in and think to myself: “Now what?” I just don’t really know what to do when I’m in a bath. I know it’s meant to be a really relaxing experience, but I just get bored. I listen to music sometimes and have also dared to read a book first (before it slipped out of my hands into the water). So, I thought I would give some Lush products a go, as I’ve wanted to for a while. I’m more a bubble bath type person (when I do have a bath) so was looking more at the bubble bars. I decided to get the Wizard bubble bar as I just think he looks really sweet and smells really nice. Also, I’ve heard from other people that it’s a really nice one to use.

Northern Lights Bath Bomb – Lush, £3.50

Much like the Wizard (and all Lush products actually) I’ve heard that the Northern Lights bath bomb is really pretty once its fizzed out in the water. I was actually able to see a demonstration of this one in store when I went in and it really does look impressive. My biggest worry is the glitter bits inside it and then trying to wash them off the inside of our bath once the water has drained. But that will be a hurdle once I get to it. Unfortunately, this one broke on my way home but I’m not too worried as the lady I spoke to in store said that it works just as well broken into smaller sizes too, meaning more baths!

Candy Mountain Bubble Bar – Lush, £2.75

Just like the Northern Lights bath bomb, I saw a demonstration of the Candy Mountain bubble bar in store. I was absolutely amazed just how many bubbles were made from such a small piece. And it smells so sweet and delicious. I really can’t wait to use this bubble bar!

Face & Nails

2014-11-06 14.37.22 2014-11-06 14.35.49

Instablur Primer & Instablur Eye Primer Bodyshop, £18 for set

I already own the Instablur primer from Bodyshop and went in over the weekend to buy a replacement as my current one is starting to run low. However, when I got there I was intrigued to see that they had since released an eye primer within the range and I had to give it a go, especially as the set for them both was going for £18 (sold separately at £14 and £10). I’ve been using the Instablur Eye primer with my base primer all week and its a very good product. It’s tinted with foundation so works well as an under eye concealer, reducing the appearance of dark circles and also redness over the eyelids. I will more than likely be making a re-purchase of this when the time comes!

False Nails – Primark, £1 each

I’ll admit it, my nails aren’t great. I spent years and years of my life biting them down to stubs growing up and it’s only been within the last three years, or so, that I’ve actually stopped and let them grow. However, they’re very brittle and go through periods of growing quite long and then all breaking at around the same time. I’ve worn false nails before and have dealt well with them but I’ve never bought any from Primark before. The friend I was with at the time said they were really good (but to buy nail glue elsewhere) and that she often wears them herself. I thought I would give a couple pairs a go and see what happens. After all, they’re only £1 each! I bought two sets, one in a traditional French manicure design and the other in a Scandinavian-type Christmas design ready for December. I’ll have to let you know how I get on at a later date.

Homeware & Décor

2014-11-06 14.46.08 2014-11-06 14.46.01

2014-11-06 14.47.35 2014-11-06 14.48.45

Blue Ceramic Mixing Bowl – Tesco, £5 (half price)

I’ve been eyeing up this mixing bowl in Tesco (and the whole collection, for that matter) for quite a while now. I told myself that as soon as it went on offer I would buy it, as I wasn’t quite prepared to pay the asking price of £10 for it. Low and behold, the day came that it I wandered through the kitchen section at and saw the yellow label beneath it advertising it at £5; HALF PRICE! So, needless to say, I bought it before it went back to full price. It’s an absolutely HUGE mixing bowl and I like the simplicity of the design; duck egg blue on the outside, cream on the inside with the quote ‘All good things come to those who bake’ inscribed along the inner rim in grey. I love it! I just wish I had somewhere to store it until the day comes that I move out of my parents’ house… Also, I would leave a link for this item but Tesco don’t seem to have it on their website. Strange.

Ben de Lisi Glass Carton Jug – Debenhams, £3.75 (SALE 70% off)

If  you hadn’t already guessed it, ‘SALE’ is one of my favourite four letter words and I try to make the most out of them as I can. I spied this particular beauty whilst browsing the Debenhams website and fell in love with it instantly, both because of its design and the significantly low price tag. I’ve seen jugs like this before in the past and have really taken a liking to them. I like the quirkiness of them. So, I bought it online and selected the ‘Click and Collect’ option to save on paying for post and packaging. It was funny though when I did go and collect it to find that the box they’re packaged it in was ten times bigger than the actual jug itself. It was full of bubble wrap sheets and corrugated packaging card and was quite clumsy to carry around. Perhaps delivery would have been wiser, but at least I saved some money (as well as that I’d saved with it being a sale item!)

Multi-coloured Tea Lights – Primark, £1.50 each

I love, love, love these pretty little tea lights! I’ve been wanting to buy some candles for my bedroom for quite a while now but haven’t really had the money to splash out on more expensive ones (I am in love with the Christmas Cookie and Cranberry Ice scents from the Yankee Candle Christmas collection and Black Cherry and Sicilian Lemon in the regular collection) so when I saw these cute little tea lights in Primark for just £1.50 each I snatched them up right away. I bought three in different colours; purple, pink and clear. These candles were only available in one scent, White Jasmine & Amber, which I actually rather like. It’s not a very strong scent and isn’t overpowering but it does smell nice, and works well within my little shoebox sized bedroom. And the best part? Once I’ve burned them all down, I can obviously reuse the holders and get some sampler size Yankee Candles as refills! Yay!

2014-11-06 14.28.43 2014-11-06 14.29.04

And that’s everything that I bought on my little shopping trip over the weekend. I’m certainly happy with what I bought, but if only my bank account thought the same way. Above is just a little example of who I’ve displayed my new tea lights on my bookshelves and how I’ve chosen to decorate them as a whole. If you like posts like this, be sure to leave a comment below and tell me what you think. Also, if there’s anything you might like me to talk about in the future then comment away. I’m an open book and up to discuss anything, whether its beauty/fashion, topics in the news, reviews or just random discussion pieces. I’m all ears! Thanks for taking the time to read this post, it’s much appreciated.

Until next time,

Chloe ♥

 

Comment Away!

