Struggling to force a smile

It’s always horrible when you see someone going through a time in their life, and it’s even worse when it’s someone you really care about.

Well, that’s the situation I’m in at the moment. Life just gets so difficult sometimes and it’s hard not to let it beat you down. But it happens and when it does it’s nightmarish to try and break out of.

I just don’t know what I can do to make things right for this person. I can’t even relate to how they must be feeling right now. And it pains me that there is literally nothing I can do or say that will make their situation and less painful to live through. I just don’t know what to do!

They say they’re not good with words so talking about it won’t help them, so I rules out the options of being a friendly face to either listen or give adviceΒ – but what advice would I be able to give if I had this option!? – so the only other option is just to smile and accept that they’re going through a rough patch and to chin up and look to the future. But that’s easier said than done. I want more than anything to take this burden away from them, to free them of all the stress and worry they have on their shoulders, but it is physically impossible to doΒ  that and I feel absolutely terrible about it every single day.

I love them, and all I want – more than anything – is for them to be okay and for this to all disappear. But life isn’t like that and needs to be taken with aΒ pinch of salt. All I can do is force a smile and be ready for if they suddenly need me to talk, listen or just provide a reassuring smile that everything will be okay in the end.

But will it end? Will it really? I don’t know. I hope so. I really, truly hope so.

Comment Away!

