Student Life

University is by far the best decision I have ever made and, if asked to make the choice again, I would choose to go all over again.

It’s quite sad to think that this is my third and final year of being a student and that this time next year I should – hopefully! – be working full-time somewhere. Where that somewhere is, however, is what I’d like to know most in particular.

To be honest, I haven’t got a clue what I want to do after I graduate next September. The idea was always to apply for PGCE course and study towards getting my teaching qualification. Though I’ve never really wanted to be a Drama teacher, nor have I ever pictured myself as one, this plan was always going to be there ‘just so it was there to fall back into’.

But this really isn’t the right attitude to be having when you’re talking about something as important as your career; the job that you’re going to have to go to every day and which will be your financial income for the next forty-fifty years (depending on the Government’s plans on extending the age of retirement as I get to that point of my life). Also, the fact that when I did the Teaching Drama module in my second year of University it completely turned me off actually wanting to teach full stop, back up or not!

So, it’s back to square one again.

But really, it truly and utterly terrifies me that I don’t know where I’ll be this time next year. Will I be living alone? With friends? With my parents!? Will I have a job within the theatre industry? Or will I be working somewhere just to earn some sort of income in order to survive? I have no idea!

Rehearsals and essays – my Dissertation in particular – seem to be filling my life up at the moment and I haven’t even been able to just stop and think about anything. What is life going to be like when I’m no longer a student?

The honest answer is: I don’t know. But I’m scared.

Comment Away!

